Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (70)

2012 review

Posted : 6 years, 5 months ago on 6 March 2011 09:24 (A review of 2012)

What a huge disappointment and what a huge waste of time. Roland Emmerich needs to lay off the disaster films, though there were a few things I liked. I thought the science behind this was interesting and the special effects were wonderful! Unfortunately everything else wasn't nearly as wonderful as the special effects. There were way to many unrealistic scenes, the acting was ok, the dialogue was crap, and the movie was way too long. If I were you I would spare yourself the torture and do something productive, this is as entertaining as watching grass grow.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

I Am Number Four review

Posted : 6 years, 5 months ago on 6 March 2011 09:14 (A review of I Am Number Four)

This movie isn't necessarily bad but it's not that good either. The performances were very unconvincing the only decent performance was from Timothy Olyphant. The plot borrows from many other films like Jumper(2008), and a little bit from Push(2009). It's like Jumper in a sense that there are only a certain amount of people like his kind and he's constantly being chased by a group of people who want to kill every last one of his kind. Though there are some differences these two movies are very similar and also the powers John or "number 4" whatever you want to call him remind of the powers in Push, the "pushers" are able to do practically the same thing as he is able to. I am number four does feature some nice special effects and I did like the whole going to school trying to blend in with the environment sort of thing. This movie probably would have been better if Michael Bay didn't produce it but for what it is I am number Four is a mildly entertaining film and even though it borrows the other films plots it is a lot better than Jumper but not as good as Push, and Push wasn't even that great of a movie either. I am interested to see when the other films are going to go hopefully Michael Bay won't produce them.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Gnomeo & Juliet review

Posted : 6 years, 5 months ago on 1 March 2011 01:36 (A review of Gnomeo & Juliet)

When I saw the previews for this movie I thought to myself what a stupid concept, I bet this movie is going to be another lame animated movie strictly aimed for children 10 and under. I was completely wrong, though clich├ęd, Gnomeo & Juliet managed to work its way into my heart. The animation is wonderful, colorful and bright. The voice acting is terrific, the dialogue gets a bit weak in some places but for the most part it's good. The story and plot are obviously familiar but this movie does have moments of inspiration and the soundtrack it pretty darn good thanks to Elton John. I wish this movie was longer but for what it is, it's a pretty darn cute movie and a nice family movie too that I'm sure both adults and kids will like.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Blue Crush review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 19 February 2011 02:14 (A review of Blue Crush)

Yes both the story/plot are rather familiar and trite but those surfing sequences are amazing and well shot. The cast members do a pretty nice job but none of the performances are really memorable. Those surfing scenes are just so amazing though but I feel like I didn't really learn that much about surfing. The biggest problem with the movie is that only about 40-50 minutes are spent in the water, the other 50-60 minutes are spent on land which is where the movie loses ideas and doesn't know what to do with its characters. I have to give credit though to the director, he manages to bring us into the experience, instead of just filming the movie from shore or far away while the actors are surfing, like the way most surfing movies are shot, he brings us all over the place, above the water(helicopter of course), in the water, and in the actor's faces as their surfing the wave. The best though is when the camera goes into the water filming the surfers surfing the wave. Everything else about the movie was ok, the thing that keeps this from begin your typical teen sports/drama flick is the surfing sequences without them this would be a very boring movie.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

How to Train Your Dragon review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 15 February 2011 12:31 (A review of How to Train Your Dragon)

Personally one of my favorite movies of 2010 along with Toy Story 3. I wasn't sure exactly what to expect from this movie when I first saw this trailers because the trailers made it look like another lame animated movie. I was completely wrong I didn't know I would love this film so much. The animation is beautiful, the script is wonderful and it surprisingly has a lot of dramatic depth, and the voice acting is top notch, with some nice cinematography shots thrown in there. The montage between Hiccup and Toothless is what I think won me over it is such a beautiful scene and it's probably one of my favorite scenes in the movie also the music was wonderful composer John Powell did a nice job. Though some have complained that the story is familiar and the message has been done before in other movies which I agree but, I think it's how this movie uses the familiar story and message that make it somewhat original and wonderful.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

It's A Boy Girl Thing review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 14 February 2011 09:15 (A review of It's A Boy Girl Thing)

Yes it's formulaic but it does add some fresh ideas into the body switching genre and it is so much better than half of the movies within this genre. Though I didn't exactly buy the whole statue magic thing, actors Samaire Armstrong and Kevin Zegers do a fantastic job at playing one another and I loved the whole idea of them trying to teach each other on how to use each other's bodies. The supporting cast did a nice job too especially Sharon Osbourne even though she was really only in three scenes, I wish they would have added more scenes with her but this is a very enjoyable teen movie and it's a huge step up from most movies in the body switching genre. Other than the story being formulaic and predictable the rest of the movie is very enjoyable.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 13 February 2011 02:03 (A review of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1)

When the first Harry Potter movie came out in 2001 I was only eight and I loved it. Then, after the first movie, a new Harry Potter movie came out almost every year and as we've seen the series grow in front of our very eyes along with the cast I've grown with it too. Now unfortunately there is only one movie left which is very sad but all good things come to an end at some point.
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 proves to be a very worthy entrance into the Harry Potter series. Though it does feel incomplete which I guess it's suppose to I couldn't have asked for a more satisfying movie. Almost everything was wonderful in this movie however I did feel some of the camp scenes to be a bit dull at times and like Harry Potter and The Half blood Prince this movie is mostly talk with not that much action but, it is still a very entertaining movie. Other than some of the dull scenes the acting was terrific as usual, The plot and story are great and are both more complex now which is good, the dark tone is great, the pacing is nice, and this movie is beautifully filmed. So if you've loved this movie series as much as I have and you still haven't seen this movie, do yourselves a favor and go see it right now!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Kick-Ass review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 11 February 2011 04:30 (A review of Kick-Ass)

Kick-Ass lives up to its title every possible way. I was worried when I saw Nicolas Cage, I was like oh great he's in this movie I hope he doesn't ruin the movie, I was extremely surprised however at what a great job he does in this movie. The biggest thing that blew me away though, was the perfect blend of comedy, action, and drama. As you know this is very hard to pull off in a movie like this, usually with a movie like this either the movie is strong in one thing but is weak in another but Kick-Ass manages to nail it. The funny thing about this movie is that even though it's called Kick-Ass I found Kick-Ass to be the least interesting character. The real star is Hit Girl played by Chloe Moretz. She is one talented actress for sure she did an amazing job as Hit Girl. Don't worry though the rest of the cast was great to but she really stands out. Everything else about the movie is enjoyable the action is wonderful especially when Big Daddy or Hit Girl is in the scene, the dialogue was good, the pacing was nice and the story was great.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Before Sunset review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 11 February 2011 04:19 (A review of Before Sunset)

Probably one of my favorite romance movies and I usually hate the Romance genre but this one surprisingly managed to work its way into my heart. This one so much more entertaining than the first movie (Before Sunrise). The chemistry between the two leads is very natural and not forced or weak at all. The dialogue is smart, funny, and contains a lot of sexual references which might turn away some people but at least it had to do with the story. The pacing of this film is nice and the characters are wonderfully written which I'm not surprised because Ethan Hawke and Julie Deply practically wrote their own characters and practically wrote the movie. This is a perfect example of how Romance movies should be made.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Last Airbender review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 30 January 2011 07:47 (A review of The Last Airbender)

I am so done with M. Night Shyamalan. This was his chance to bounce back but, instead he reached an even lower point in his crumbling career. I don't even know where to begin there were so many things wrong with the movie. I'll first point out the three things that I liked, The special effects were great, the cgi creatures were wonderful and I thought the spirit oasis Was beautiful. That's it out of the whole movie that's all I liked about it everything else was dreadful. The acting was so bad these people didn't even look like they were having the least bit of fun. The dialogue was laughable I wouldn't be surprised if it were written in crayons. The bending was atrocious in the show they based the bending movements on actual martial arts in the movie however it looked ridiculous, nothing like martial arts whatsoever. M. Night Shyamalan also managed to butcher the story and plot, I understand you had to take a bunch of stuff out of each of the episodes because there's so much stuff but he completely took out all of the important things that tie into the second and third seasons. You had your chance Shyamalan but you blew it! What a waste of $150 million dollars you couldn't at least invest some of that money into acting lessons for some of the actors? Also another thing that really bothered me was the way some of the names were pronounced it's like he did it purposely. I now realize that he just got lucky with the sixth sense, signs, and unbreakable. I will never see another Shyamalan movie ever again.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 1... 4 5 6 7Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block